Frozen Vistas

I wanted to do something a bit different this week.  I’m going to show you a few stitched panoramas that I’ve taken over time.  They’re not perfect as stitching large panoramas has been something of an experimental hobby of mine.  They are, however, quite interesting in the detail that some of them possess.  Note that a couple of them are JPEGs over 100MB, so they’re worth downloading and spending a minute zooming in and scrolling around.

veranda

This is one of the first ones I took.  You can see the horizon isn’t flat, and the handrails don’t join up.  There are a couple of reasons for this, but I still think it’s a great shot of the bay and of the elephant seals in the wallow.  Remember that these images are quite large, so click and load it in full size to see the details.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s an even larger one.  It stitched together a little better, and is a photo of earlier in the season before the sea ice blew out.

sunset

deep sunset

If you’ve been following the blog for a little while, you probably know I like my sunrise and sunset photos.  These two shots just didn’t have the detail I wanted if I took them in a single image with a wide-angle lens.  So here they are as multiple images to get the extra detail I wanted.  The second photo is of the sun setting behind Gardener Island, and is the sort of sunset we see nearly every day here.

penguin

This panorama was done as a favour to one of the other expeditioners.  His camera wasn’t doing a good job of taking a panorama using the inbuilt functionality, so I used my point-and-shoot to take a bunch of images and stitched them together later.  My point-and-shoot camera doesn’t allow for full manual control, so the exposure value varies between the images.  It’s quite large though, so it’s still pretty neat to have a look at the detail (especially the penguin).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the first of the especially large files.  This is a large composite of Anchorage Island (the next island to the North of Gardener Island) taken at 600mm full-frame equivalent.  If you load it at full size you can see not only the memorial crosses on the top of the island, but also penguins and even a couple of birds in flight down along the beach.

pineapple

NOTE:  Very large image.

This is a ~200 degree panorama of the bay just before the fast ice blew out to sea.  The location is just on the seaward side of the base so as to avoid any obstructions.

It’s the first composite that I stitched that exceeded the limits of the JPEG file, which is 64,000 pixels wide.  The full size PNG is 880 megapixels and 1.2GB.  It’s the first time I’d used the Kolor software, so it’s not my best, but I prefer to leave them as they were when I made them.

helipad

NOTE:  Very large image.

This was taken a couple of days ago.  It’s a 360 degree view from in front of the ‘heli hut’ (the close-by building at the right of the image), which is furthest from the sea.  Most of the station can be seen from here, but you’ll need to zoom in to see the fine details.

 

I hope you find something among these images that you like.  In some of them you can pick out wildlife, people and objects that are invisible in preview but interesting up close.  Even though some of these images aren’t good enough to print, I really enjoy being able to view and remember a big snapshot of a single moment in time at Davis Station.  For this reason, these are among the most prized in my collection.

One Comment on “Frozen Vistas

Leave a Reply

