First Snow Redux

I realised a few days ago that we’ve all become quite accustomed to the amount of snow around here.  We haven’t had a proper dump of snow, or a blizzard, for some time so the landscape has been quite static.  We’ve even cut steps into a few places to make it easier to get around.  I thought it might be instructive to show you all some of the same angles as seen in an earlier blog post, Season’s First Snow (this is a short post for a change too as the pictures speak for themselves).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Living Quarters (LQ).  Look at the handrails on the stairs and the rock in the background to the right as points of reference.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We haven’t seen the ocean in some time, apart from the little bit of it we uncovered for our Midwinter swim.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This area builds up very little snow because it’s quite a wind tunnel.  The rock is scoured clean every time there is a decent blow from the North.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is my favourite ‘before and after’ photo.  We just take this for granted now; it stopped seeming strange weeks ago.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I spent 20 minutes clearing out snow from under the table and cutting a flat surface into the chair that is behind the table.  I also cut three little nooks into the snow on the table for our beer mugs.  It seemed like a good idea to drink a beer or two outside at solar noon (~2pm) when the sun was closest to rising.  Only a few more days until we get our sun back!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly, a little bit of silliness.  I put on my warm clothes and headed over to the LQ to take the pictures in this post.  Too late I realised that I’d worn my ugg boots rather than my socks, so I couldn’t comfortably wear my Baffins.  Undeterred, I put a pair of microspikes on my ugg boots so as to get some traction on the snow (which is other quite impossible with ugg boots).  They turned out to be warm enough for half an hour outside with no problem, so my silly impromptu experiment was something of a success!

Thanks for reading  🙂

Leave a Reply

