Both rushed and late!

As the title says, this week’s post is both rushed and late, but for good reason!  This weekend was the annual Antarctic 48-hour film festival.  Each station that wished to participate is sent the same list of five required inclusions for their film.  This year it was a squealing pig, a swing (as you’d find in a children’s playground), a particular phrase, a swimsuit, and the character Wal from Footrot Flats.

The weekend was pandemonium and none of us achieved anything we’d previously planned.  There was plenty of last-minute requests for people to go out and shoot random bits of footage as well, so we were gathering the final clips even after the video was finishing being cut together.  Perhaps I’ll put the video up here once the final render and export is finished, but that’ll have to wait for another time.

The only other news I have is as a result of a discussion with one of my fellow expeditioners.  He’s quite an accomplished photographer and shoots a Nikon D800E.  Most of his work is done with a 50mm prime, the equivalent of which is a large hole in my collection (my nearest primes are 24mm equivalent and 90mm equivalent with nothing worth speaking of in between).  So, in order to see for myself what 50mm equivalent is like, I set my kit lens to that focal length and took a few shots.

P8021647

P8021645

P8021644

P8021643

P8021642

The light was especially flat and there was so little definition on the snow that obstacles were barely visible and likely to cause trips and stumbles.  That took the colour out of everything, so I made the morning’s photos black and white to get a better idea of what I was looking at.

I’ve decided that it’s a pretty cool focal length and I can see why it’s popular.  It’s not because I think these pictures are anything special, but rather because it’s a pleasant and reasonable field of view without the perspective distortion that I’m used to having (and liking).  Apart from the 1×1 crop above, the other images all feel similar to my memory of the scene in that instant.  I contrast that with my usual landscape shots, where the picture feels more like what I remember from standing in that spot for a long moment and turning my head back and forth to take in a larger view.

My 45mm f/1.8 (90mm equiv.) is great for candid portraits when combined with the super autofocus speed of the E-P5, but it’s too long to do much else with.  I take almost all of my photos with either my wide-angle zoom or my 12mm f/2.0 (24mm equivalent) ‘fairly wide’ prime, but that may just be because the landscape down here is just so amazing.  And because of auroras, of course.  In order to do something new and learn more about framing a good shot, I’ll probably end up with a 20mm or 25mm prime from Panasonic.  Perhaps.

P8041478_DxO

Speaking of wide-angle…here’s another!  I’ve been very happy with a few of my aurora shots, but they’ve all been from only two places on the station.  In the interest of moving around and taking a broader range of shots I made use of this morning’s aurora.  I think this could have been a much better shot with an ND grad, but I don’t mind because it was still amazing to see in person.

Leave a Reply

