Clear skies at last

After having gone a few weeks with only sporadic clear skies, we’ve finally had a full weekend of impeccable weather.  Aside from several of us finally getting out cameras out again, it also meant that the traverse team was able to depart at last.  The team of eight people is heading across to the Rauer Islands to take some samples (with the two wintering scientists), and to check the place out and develop a plan for further sampling during the coming summer when helicopter support is available.  More on that another time though.

For now, I’ll share with you my photos.  The first lot are all taken with my Olympus M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8.  It’s a really great lens that I seldom use, considering how much I like my 12mm from the same company.  I made a point of sticking it on my Olympus PEN E-P5 and spending an hour or two walking around the station at sunrise.  Here’s what came out of it:

_9071041

_9071052_HDR

_9071040

The following night we had a strange aurora that was very purple.

_9131013_DxO

_9131015_DxO

_9131018_DxO

_9131024_DxO

And last of all, between the two occurrences, I took the opportunity to have a beer on the veranda in the afternoon sunlight.

P9070985

_9070987

For once I’ve managed to achieve a post that’s short on words, so I’ll leave it at that for this week.  I’ll keep sharing the views around here for a little longer, as before we know it the ship will have arrived and the pandemonium of an Antarctic Summer will have begun anew.

2 Comments on “Clear skies at last

  1. Aussie media reported a large solar flare this week; nice to see the results down your way mate.

    • Yeah, the media was reporting it, but the Ionospheric Prediction Service (www.ips.gov.au) didn’t report anything too exciting with regard to auroras. And sure enough, the aurora was only a relatively weak one compared to some that we’ve had. Still, it’s the first time I’ve had the photos come out purple!

Leave a Reply

