Final Antarctic Post

At long last, it’s time for me to leave this awe-inspiring place I’ve called home for 18 months.  Since the ship arrived this morning I’ve been increasingly sad and excited.  It’ll be very sad to part with Davis Station and its denizens, but I also have so much to look forward to (and do) back home.

I don’t have a theme for this week’s pictures.  It’s the time of year when the grease ice is starting to form, the sun sets in the perfect spot for photos on the beach, and the chill in the air starts to return and remind us that Antarctica does get cold sometimes.

P2250480

A few different weather systems have give us onshore winds over the last few weeks.  One of them managed to blow chunks of ice ashore at high tide, leaving them stranded for my viewing and photographing pleasure.

P3021014_DxO_HDR

We have nearly 100 elephant seals in the wallow by the station now.  They’re still fighting, sleeping, stinking, swimming, etc. as much usual; perhaps even more now the the temperatures have dropped and they’re less prone to overheat.

P3021025

P3070507

Of everything I’ve seen down here (it’s a lot; check previous posts!), the stunning vistas are still my favourite part.  Adelie penguins and their inexplicable antics are a close second, but sunsets, auroras, sunrises, icebergs, dykes, etc. are still the winner.

P3070509-Edit

At this very moment, however, my awaiting red taxi is my favourite view.

P3141027

When I’m asked what I miss the most, I don’t answer with ‘friends and family’.  I take it as a given that they’re the top of the list, so I instead think forward to the littler things I want.  My motorbike of course, but also simple things like walking outside barefoot, eating a banana, rain, smells, real coffee, etc.  So in about a fortnight I’ll be back in the real world enjoying these things.  I’ll post about my trip home after I get there, and I’ll also put up a final post about back home, so that this story can have a proper happy ending.

Thanks to everyone who has read my posts, commented on my photos, and generally kept me feeling connected with the world in the little ways.

5 Comments on “Final Antarctic Post

  1. Well done Son, have a safe trip back home you can put yourself up there with many other adventurers and pioneers in our world to have been in one of our planets most pristine environments for such a long period. Your photo’s and commentary have been inspiring , wonderful , exciting and educational.

    Take care, Love ans best wishes Dad & Oom

  2. See you soon buddy lets know where you will call home again when you know hugs

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Thanks for sharing your amazing adventures with us, and it’ll be great to catch up when you get home. 🙂

  4. Wow, I can’t believe it’s been 18 months already! Have a safe trip home.

    Sammie

Leave a Reply

